Friday, September 18, 2009

Nomination Guidelines for SBA 2010 Awards

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is seeking nominations for the 2010 Georgia Small Business Person of the Year and Small Business Champion awards.

Each year since 1963, the President of the United States has designated a National Small Business Week. The highlight of Small Business Week activities is the presentation of awards at the state and national levels. The 2010 Small Business Week celebration next year will honor the small business community's many contributions to the American economy and society. National Small Business Week will be observed May 23 – 29, 2010.

“You can be part of this celebration by nominating an outstanding small business owner or small business champion in your community for one of these awards,” said SBA Georgia District Director Terri Denison.

In Georgia, the SBA District Office selects the state’s 2010 Small Business Person of the Year. That individual will attend the national celebration in Washington, DC to compete for the National Small Business Person of the Year award. At this celebration, a national winner is selected from all the winners from across the country. Scott Blackstock, President of Tidal Wave Auto Spa of Thomaston, won the honor in 2009.

Small Business Champions of the Year award categories are for those who promote small business, including volunteering time and services to small business interests and groups. Champions may or may not be small business owners. Award categories include:

Minority Small Business Champion
Veteran Small Business Champion
Financial Services Champion
Home-Based Business Champion
Women in Business Champion
Small Business Exporter of the Year
Jeffrey Butland Award for Family-Owned Small Business of the Year
SBA Young Entrepreneur of the Year

Nomination packages must be received at the Georgia District Office in Atlanta on or before Friday, November 13, 2009. To find nomination guidelines and information for these and other awards visit the SBA Georgia web site: Look under “Spotlight.”

Nominations may be mailed to Jim Hightower, Public Affairs, SBA Georgia District Office, 233 Peachtree St. NE, Suite 1900, Atlanta, GA 30303.
Community News You Can Use
Follow us on Twitter: @gafrontpage

No comments: